HowTo disable the Like Button on WordPress.com

You have a Blog running on WordPress.com and you dislike the like button that went into your Blog by magic?

Go Admin: Apperance -> Extras and uncheck the last checkbox next the extremely long label Show a like button and who has liked my post on all of my blog posts above the comments section (Support Document). That was long. Done.

Like Buttons are lame, consider creating your own Posts and link to stuff you see fit. Put it in context. That’s called hyperlinking and a method worth to do. Professional Likers instead are Facebook Users. Looks like WordPress.com is unable to offer any true Facebook Like Button but needed to place a placebo. Not that it was me who asked for that. But I do a lot for my visitors pleasures, so I keep this one Button in remembrance and to show my selfish self-loving nature – self liking was only buggy, not permanent (sacre bleu!).

Psst: There is a secret, but you can only get it, if you like this post. You get the secret when you click the button a second time.

Be the first to like this post.
This entry was posted in Pressed and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to HowTo disable the Like Button on WordPress.com

  1. Denis says:

    Then again, it took me to Facebook when I clicked it.🙂

    So maybe not that much of a placebo.

  2. taikaka says:

    By the way, this setting is now to be found at Settings – Sharing.

    • WT Dufrane says:

      This doesn’t do anything where I activate it. My likes button is still gone. Any clues how to get it back?

  3. piscianemperor says:

    Like !🙂
    Now under settings–> sharing

  4. De Kluners says:

    Thanks!

  5. Justin says:

    Thanks Hakre and Piscianemperor!

  6. justrecently says:

    As they said – changed. But thanks a lot for bringing up the topic; I’ve gladly removed the button, too.

  7. pxdn says:

    Under Settings/Sharing I see no way to PERMANENTLY TURN OFF the stupid Like button. It only gives 2 options:
    1. Turn On all the time.
    2. Turn On per post.

    I don’t want either! Option-2 means I have to UNcheck it for every single post, a real pain in the neck!! :-/

    (I like the Ratings/Stars, but not the Like button.)

Leave a Reply

